About UsIssuesAct NowGovernment AffairsEventsNewsroomlounge
Media Contact: Ted Hearn
Phone: 202-713-0826
Email: thearn@americancable.org

ACA Salutes ACA Chairwoman Colleen Abdoulah, Other ACA Members & Friends On Their Selection To The 2014 Class Of Cable Pioneers

PITTSBURGH, January 24, 2014 - ACA President and CEO Matthew M. Polka commended Colleen Abdoulah, Chairwoman of WOW! Internet, Cable and Phone, on her selection to the 2014 class of Cable TV Pioneers, a 48-year-old organization that honors cable industry veterans for their contributions to the industry's growth and success.

"Respected and innovative leaders like Colleen Abdoulah deserve every bit of recognition the cable industry has to offer as a way of showing appreciation for her entrepreneurial spirit, executive vision and unselfish commitment to the independent cable community," Polka said.  "All of us at ACA congratulate Colleen on this great honor she so richly deserves."

Abdoulah became Chairwoman of the ACA Board in July 2011, and since that time she has testified on numerous occasions before Congress on the need for communications policy reforms that will combat media consolidation and discriminatory acts by dominant content providers against independent cable operators. The Cable TV Pioneers is a group steeped in the culture and history of the industry, and it represents where cable has been and where it is going as an industry.

Polka also commended the Cable TV Pioneers on the selection of these other ACA Members for inclusion in the Class of 2014:  Chris Hilliard, USA Communications; Dick Sjoberg, Sjoberg's Inc.; and Dan Nofs, Helicon Cable Communications/Jet Broadband (retired).  ACA Associate Members entering the Class of 2014 are Gary Ervin, Ervin Cable Construction; Zenita Henderson of Arris; and James Riley of Vubiquity.

Polka also praised Cable TV Pioneers for the induction of Frank Hughes of the National Cable Television Cooperative, the content- and equipment-buying cooperative used by hundreds of small and medium-sized cable operators.

"Frank Hughes is worthy of this fine recognition because so many have benefited from his sound judgment and tireless support for the independent cable operator over many, many years," Polka said.

Founded in 1966, the Cable TV Pioneers is an independent organization of individuals recognized and honored for their contributions to the cable television industry.  To be chosen, Pioneers must serve 20 years in the cable industry and must make significant and meaningful contributions to the industry.

The Cable TV Pioneers will induct 18 new members at its upcoming Banquet to be held on Monday evening, April 28, 2014, the night before the 2014 Cable Show in Los Angeles.

"This year, we had great applicants and had to make tough decisions.  The one thing that becomes more evident each year is the extensive pool of candidates who have and continue to make significant contributions to our industry and their communities," Cable TV Pioneer Chairwoman Susan Bitter Smith said in a statement.

About the American Cable Association

Based in Pittsburgh, the American Cable Association is a trade organization representing nearly 850 smaller and medium-sized, independent cable companies who provide broadband services for more than 7 million cable subscribers primarily located in rural and smaller suburban markets across America.  Through active participation in the regulatory and legislative process in Washington, D.C., ACA's members work together to advance the interests of their customers and ensure the future competitiveness and viability of their business.  For more information, visit http://www.americancable.org/

Contact Us

Please use the information below to get in touch with the American Cable Association.

  • American Cable Association
    Seven Parkway Center
    Suite 755
    Pittsburgh, PA 15220-3704
  • phone:412-922-8300
    contact us
Connect Hometown America
Join the Campaign

Enter your email address and zip code below to begin the process of creating an account on the ACA website.